Texas Government Code Chapter 411, Subchapter H sets out the eligibility criteria that must be met to receive your license to Carry(LTC). Applicants must be at least 21 years of age (unless active duty military) and must meet Federal qualifications to purchase a handgun. A number of factors may make individuals ineligible to obtain a license, such as: felony convictions, some misdemeanor convictions, including charges that resulted in probation or deferred adjudication; certain pending criminal charges; chemical or alcohol dependency; certain types of psychological diagnoses, and protective or restraining orders.
You must also submit a completed application, pay the required fees, complete all required training and submit required supplemental forms and materials.
The classroom instruction part of the course must include not less than four hours and not more than six hours of instruction on:
- the laws that relate to weapons and to the use of deadly force;
- handgun use and safety, including use of restraint holsters and methods to ensure the secure carrying of openly carried handguns;
- nonviolent dispute resolution; and
- proper storage practices for handguns with an emphasis on storage practices that eliminate the possibility of accidental injury to a child.
Only a qualified handgun instructor may administer the proficiency examination to obtain a license. The proficiency examination must include:
- a written section on the subjects listed in Subsection (b); and
- a physical demonstration of proficiency in the use of one or more handguns and in handgun safety procedures.
You do not need to complete the State Application prior to class. If you don’t have Ear & Eye Protection, it will be provided for you. Please bring your handgun (.32 Cal Minimum) and 100 rounds of ammunition, 50 are required for qualification the extra 50 are for those that fail to qualify the first time. YOU MAY BRING YOUR OWN AMMO, NO RELOADS. If you currently don’t have a handgun you can rent one for an additional cost which includes the ammunition.
Renewals are no longer required to take a continuing education course as of September 2013.
There is a 25 question true/false and multiple choice exam. Students must Achieve a proficiency level of 70% on the written exam in order to pass the course.
Students must achieve a score of 175 points out of 250 total possible points. The Proficiency is timed with specfic firing sequence. All shooting is done at the ready position.
Cost for the course is $125
This class is taught by Proactive Defense instructors. Reservations are required, click here to view our schedule.
Texas CHL Online Application Process
The easiest way to apply for your Texas Concealed Handgun License is online through the Texas DPS website.
If you do not have a computer, you may call (512) 424-7293 to apply by mail.
- Before you begin, have the following information ready; your Texas Driver’s License or Texas ID card, a credit card, residential address(es) (5 years worth), Employer name(s) and address(es) (5 years worth).
- Go to https://txapps.texas.gov/txapp/txdps/chl/loginTexas.do or click here.
- Fill out application completely and truthfully. It is a crime to falsify an application…and DPS will know if you are not telling the truth.
- The application will ask if you have a criminal history (arrested or charged with a crime) and if you have ever been treated or admitted to a facility for drug, alcohol or psychiatric care OR been diagnosed as suffering from a psychiatric disorder, etc. If the answer is yes to these questions, you will be asked to provide additional information.
- The complete eligibility requirements for obtaining a CHL can be found starting on page 5 of form CHL-16 (Texas Concealed Handgun Licensing Handbook) click here to download. DO YOUR RESEARCH before applying for a CHL or taking a CHL class to determine your eligibility.
- There is a state fee of $140 for a Standard license. A reduced fee of $70 applies to certain other classifications, such as Veterans, Senior Citizens (60 yrs. or older at time of application), etc.
- At the end of the application, you will be instructed to print out a checklist of items to be mailed to DPS. Send all items requested and make copies of everything you send.
- You will also be instructed how and where to obtain your electronic fingerprints.
- If you DO NOT have a Texas Driver’s License or Texas ID card, you will be required to send in passport photos, along with form CHL-6.
- In 60 days or less, your license will be issued or your application denied, based on meeting the eligibility requirements.
For more information visit the Texas Department of Public Safety website at http://www.dps.texas.gov/rsd/chl/index.htm.
If you have questions please please contact us at: (817) 692-4067.
Your CHL is just the beginning.
Now that you have completed the Texas requirements please allow us to continue your education on the proper use of your firearm. We offer several classes to help you safely handle your handgun and to improve your ability to defend yourself. It all starts with our Foundations Pistol class where you will learn the safety rules, proper loading and unloading of the firearm and fundamentals such as sight picture, sight alignment, grip, stance and trigger usage, and the proper way to draw from your holster.For more information Contact us Today!